monkeygreens


We Be Foodies/ to be continued
July 1, 2011, 2:22 pm
Filed under: Recipes and Ideas

Collard greens have become a staple in the MonkeyHouse.

Granted a large part of that is because its THE crop we grow and sell but also? WE LOVE THEM. Yesterday I was puttering around on the net, doing a little research (since MonkeyMan is the real brains behind the operation but I am writing this here blog I determined I better get a bit of knowledge also) and I realized a lot of stuff about collards I didn’t already know. I mean– I knew that they are a phenomenal source of Vitamin K, excellent for the colon, and downright delicious, but I didnt know that they are actually more nutritious after being cooked than they are raw. This surprised me because for about the last six years I have really JUMPED the raw bandwagon. The kale we grow provides my lunch all summer long in the form of a raw green salad. However, when collards are cooked it actually RELEASES many ofthe nutrients which give it the biggest bang for your body. I internally and externally smiled at this fact because —man, stewed collards are just HEAVENLY. Even our Man-Cat, Commander Stinky Poo, cannot resist swiping an eager paw against my plate to snatch up a slippery pile of collards – he loves em!

So, hot off the tails of some real Collard-inspired enthusiasm, I decided to share with you a recipe I prepared for myself and the Mister last night. Now– this is not my creation, its my hubby’s, but I did mine last night with a little different spin. I traded the honors of making dinner for his deft skills at swapping out my license plates.  His version is much more simplified. In fact, I will offer both. You decide for yourself which you prefer.

MonkeyHouse Weeknight Greens

1lb ground beef (we strongly suggest, if not insist, that you use grass fed beef here)

1 small yellow onion, chopped

1 medium sized ripe tomato, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

tiny pinch of sea salt (optional)

This is MoneyMan’s recipe; dead simple. Just brown and drain (if you need to– grass fed beef is very lean) the beef with the onion and garlic, then fold in tomatoes and about a 1/2 lb to a lb of torn washed and cleaned greens. They will wilt in within minutes and you are done, save for a nice salty grated Italian cheese sprinkled on before serving. Now for my mess.

I make them the same way except, I am a bit of a ‘clean out the fridger’ when it comes to preparing a dish. I can’t help but keep wondering ‘what if I add this? or this? or …” You get the picture. So…..mine includes:

1/2 diced green pepper

2 tsp ground tumeric

the freshly squeezed juice of half a lemon

If I had my way I would probably add about 1/4 cup of a nice dry red wine too….maybe a little curry (I can’t help myself with curry!) And once, I made a sauce to heap over this of good greek yogurt, chopped cucumber, and fresh dill and mint. That was quite lovely.

Sorry I am not better with traditional measurements. I just don’t use them. Maybe it is because my utterly scatagorical and charmingly disorganized mother (also my culinary mentor) never used them, or maybe I am just lazy, but they simply arent a part of my repetoire. Many frustrated family members and friends get recipes with words like ‘dollop,’ ‘handful,’ ‘slug,’ ‘gob’……luckily they know I am an eccentric and go with the flow.

I hate to be pushy or marketing my own ideals here, but I strongly suggest hitting a nearby Farmers Market this week, scoring some collards and grass fed beef, and trying this out for yourself. <insert shameless plug here> Oh wait, I already have!

Stay tuned for my afternoon installment: All My Friends Have Four Legs

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

