monkeygreens


Bless this Mess
July 15, 2011, 6:04 pm
Filed under: Home Sweet Home

Last night I was taking some vegetables bits out to our compost heap, which MonkeyMan built in the far back end of our yard. Its discreet, and functional (aside from the dogs occasionally trying to eat from it– blecht) and from it I got a real good look up at the house.

I adore our home. Its spacious, old, rustic, and luckily — MonkeyMan has allowed me to decorate it just to my specifications — so its very ecclectic and shabby chic. We have the same taste in that respect.

When I came back into the kitchen, my husband was making us dinner and the cats were playing on the floor, the dogs sprawled out relaxing, happy to have us home. I told him how much I love our house, how I really do consider it my dreamhouse, and he kinda looked at me like I had antenna but that is ok. This morning when I came into work I was a little bummed because he is at home cutting collards for market tomorrow and I sort of wanted to stay home too. That made me begin to think of blessings, and the things in life I am so grateful for.

If certain legislatures gain heft, our country could be in a position to severely restrict the amount of freedoms we Americans have to grow our own food. That scares me half to death. It means that the way that my family live could be in serious jeopardy, and more importantly, that the liberty we enjoy to eat healthy food could be stripped away. Depending upon the government to feed us is a devastating proposition, and we have never been more in danger of it becomming a reality.

I do not consider the right to choose local, chemical free, naturally grown food a priviledge, I consider it a right. That means that I while I am no less thankful for it, I believe that I should unquestionably be given the option to produce what nourishes my body. But that also got me to thinking about how fortunate I feel to be in a moment where that right is being reserved. We are in a moment right now –where we can CHOOSE correctly. We are not forced to eat genetically modified, chemically laden poison. And yet– how often do Americans choose to do — just that?

I cannot begin to go into the struggles I experience daily with trying to find ways to get this message across. MonkeyMan and I have endless discussions on why it is so difficult for some people to see the importance of this issue. And yet, those of us living this type of life, a life centered around healthy food and nourishing our communities have no choice but to spread the word. Education is the key. I am not afraid of annoying anyone with the facts that support my opinion, and I relish that I have the freedom to do so.

It is not with bittersweet sadness that I look upon my home and wonder when the sanctity of my freedoms will be stolen, it is with zealous fight. My husband is at our home right now, our sanctuary, living the words I speak to you now. It is not an easy life toiling the soil, especially in the city where your endeavor is uncommon, and at times even frowned upon or ridiculed. We have been called hippies, and dirty, and extremist, and even crazy. I respect the right of those adverse opinions to be expressed freely for we will never change.

And perhaps someone who never thought about the food they ate before, maybe they will come to the Farmer’s Market tomorrow and happen upon my husband. He will tell a tale of collards, and they might buy some and take them home. It fills my heart with joy to see parents buying our leaves to feed to their families. I see the children of our future and I know eating these fresh natural vegetables now will impact their future. Home can be a house, but it’s love can also be extended to the world in the little things that you do. That is what our crops mean to us, and they signify the gratitude we express to share them with our community, and to bring a little of our home to your table.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

